Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Children & Young People's Services Committee



The DLR CYPSC is the most recently established CYPSC structure in Ireland. From 2017-2018, the developmental focus has been firmly on building the interagency strategic and operational structures of the CYPSC, developing a robust population data baseline, mapping existing services and engaging a wide range of statutory, community and voluntary stakeholder services as well as young people in a county-wide consultation to inform the DLR CYPSC three year plan.

Lorna Kerin is employed by Tusla Child & Family Agency to drive and manage the development of the Children and Young People’s Services Committee in Dún Laoghaire Rathdown (DLR CYPSC) and to report progress directly to the DLR CYPSC Chair Joanne Cullen (Area Manager for Tusla Child and Family Agency services in Dublin South East/Wicklow) and to the DLR CYPSC Vice-Chair Dearbhla Lawson (Director of Community and Cultural Development in Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council). 

The DLR CYPSC Strategic Area Management Committee was established in August 2017 to strategically inform and oversee this process. The DLR CYPSC Expert Subgroups are currently being established in 2018 as implementation structures to enable local managers and services to further shape and take ownership of the area plan.

This detailed area plan is currently being developed in collaboration with CYPSC member organisations and will be submitted in 2019 for approval by the National CYPSC Steering Group and to inform the National Interdepartmental Consortium as appropriate. Once approved there will be a public launch of the plan detailing the agreed actions in the county of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown to improve the the five national outcomes for children and young people, including health and mental health, learning and education, safety, economic security and participation.

In the meantime, DLR CYPSC has initiated a range of interagency projects in partnership key stakeholder services to improve outcomes in areas such as Perinatal Support, Infant Mental Health, Early Years Workforce Capacity Building, Homelessness; Youth Mental Wellness; Music Education and Youth Engagement in Physical Activity and Sport.

DLR CYPSC is represented by Lorna Kerin on a number of interagency committees to contribute to other county wide structures and plans. These include the DLR Local Community Development Committee (LCDC); the Healthy Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Steering Group; the Connecting for Life Steering Group (HSE Community Healthcare East); the Tusla Commissioning Steering Committee (Dublin South East & Wicklow) and the CYPSC Co-ordinators' National Network. 









To find another CYPSC click here.