

## Internet Safety Subgroup of the Children and Young People's Services Committee (CYPSC)

## **Galway and Roscommon**

Issues of internet safety and cyberbullying have been identified as being important for children and young people in Galway and Roscommon through consultations with the CYPSC Co-ordinator. A subgroup of the CYPSC has been established to address this need.

The overall aim of the Internet Safety Subgroup of the CYPSC is to develop and implement specific, measureable, achievable, realistic and time-framed actions (SMART) which will achieve better outcomes for children and young people in Galway and Roscommon in relation to the issue of internet safety

## Galway and Roscommon CYPSC's

Galway and Roscommon CYPSC's were established in 2014 with members representing Tusla, County Councils, HSE, An Garda Síochana, Education and Training Boards, Primary and Secondary Schools, Probation Services, County Childcare Committees, Family Resource Centres, Foroige, Youth Work Ireland, Partnership Companies, Jigsaw, COPE Galway, Galway Traveller Movement and hospitals.

## Terms of Reference of the Internet Safety Subgroup of the CYPSC

This subgroup will cover Galway and Roscommon and is part of the Children and Young People's Plans for both counties under Outcome three which states that all children and young people should be safe and protected from harm.

The group will meet in Tuam, County Galway which is a central location for both Counties every eight weeks.

The first task of this subgroup will be to scope what has already been done in the area in relation to this topic.

Once this is complete, gaps will be identified and a plan put in place to address these gaps.

If material is developed by this subgroup children and young people will be consulted with before it is signed off on.

Membership of the Galway and Roscommon Internet Safety Subgroup includes representatives from the following agencies:

Agency	Member
Tusla	Marie Gibbons, Researcher for CYPSC Initiative (Chair)
	Caroline Duignan, CYPSC Co-ordinator
	Alanna O'Beirne, Training Officer, Workforce Learning and Development
	Family Support Representative TBC
HSE	Psychology Representative TBC
Youth Work Ireland	Helen Butler
Foroige	Gerry Prior
ISPCC	Aoife Griffin
National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals	Margaret Griffiths, Deputy Principal, Dunmore Community School
Youth Advocate Programme	Andrew Chapple, CEO
EPIC	Brenda Kneafsey
An Garda Siochana	TBC